Welcome to the world of toppling dominoes

"Dominoes are those tiny black things with the white dots on top!". This statement (which comes to our minds first when thinking of dominoes) isn't completely wrong, however, there is much more behind them than the well known board game being played for centuries...

One tiny movement, one chain reaction

My personal domino stacking record - 485 pieces

I bet almost everyone of you has already tried this out: instead of only putting dominoes on the table flatly, one can as well set them up vertically one by one. When then the first domino topples, a chain reaction develops and in the best case, all other set up dominoes do also topple.

This so called domino effect became famous on the TV show "Domino Day", which was broadcasted from 1998 to 2009. Every time, the team tried to break the world record for the longest domino chain ("Most dominoes toppled by a group"). Currently, this record is 4,491,863 pieces, set up at Domino Day 2009.

From the beginning on, I was also astonished by those dominoes and in 1999, I started my first experiments on the table of our living room. A bit later, I decided to upload the videos of my projects on the Internet and in 2005, I had the idea of creating a domino website, which was the first hobby website about this topic at that time. In the meantime, I have many like-minded people who have done the same. The highlights of my domino carreer are three official Guinness World Records in this field, the most disc cases toppled in a domino fashion (5,969, September 2011), the most mini dominoes toppled (1,585, May 2012) and together with Tobias Demuth the most dominoes toppled in a spiral (50,500, March 2013). I will also inform you about these records on this page.

This page is to be a general information source about the hobby and its oppurtunities. There are many other homepages searching for and listing current domino events, so listing them also here would be quite redundant. I, as a student of Computer Science and Media at Weimar, simply do not have the time and endurance to post all this stuff here regulary.

And now, I can only say: let's go! What are you waiting for? Have a lot of fun exploring the world of tiny colorful toppling dominoes.


Latest news

On July 28, 2016, the regional TV station TVO reported on my domino hobby and me in their news show "Oberfranken Aktuell": video


My latest videos


Preview Image

BioDomino: The human visual system

Another video from the BioDomino series at Dientzenhofer-Gymnasium Bamberg. This time, 6,300 dominoes illustrate the human visual system from the light rays to the brain.


Preview Image

Disc Cases Domino for Terra Xpress

Some Behind the Scenes footage from the set of Terra Xpress who published a short report about my domino hobby on August 10.


Preview Image

Review of PESTAS - wooden dominoes from Austria

I recieved a sample package from the company PESTAS which produces wooden dominoes in Austria. In this video, I compare the dominoes to the ones I frequently use and build up some smaller testing projects.

Did you know?

A single domino has the power to topple another domino which is exactly 1.5 times larger. So if you started a chain reaction with a domino of 1 cm and built on with dominoes that were always 1.5 times larger, already the 27th domino with 379 meters would be almost as large as the Empire State Building in New York.

Icon for the link to the TimDomino YouTube channel YouTube channel: TimDomino

All my video about dominoes are published on my YouTube channel called "TimDomino".

Youtube Avatar

Facebook page: TimDomino

Become a fan on the Facebook page of my homepage and my domino hobby.

Free business joomla templates

Herzlich willkommen in der Welt der fallenden Steine

"Dominosteine, das sind doch diese kleinen schwarzen Dinger mit den weißen Punkten!". Diese Aussage, die vielen Leuten als erstes in den Kopf schießt, ist zwar nicht komplett falsch, dennoch steckt hinter Dominos viel mehr als das seit Jahrhunderten bekannte Legespiel...

Eine Berührung, eine Kettenreaktion

My personal domino stacking record - 485 piecesEs hat doch wirklich jeder schon einmal ausprobiert: anstatt die Dominosteine nur flach auf den Tisch zu legen, kann man sie genauso gut vertikal hintereinander aufstellen. Fällt dann nur der erste Stein, entsteht eine Kettenreaktion und im Optimalfall fallen dann alle anderen aufgestellten Dominosteine auch.

Bekannt wurde der Dominoeffekt vor allem durch die TV-Sendung "Domino Day", die von 1998 bis 2009 lief und bei der jedes Mal aufs Neue versucht wurde, den Weltrekord der größten Domino-Kettenreaktion ("Most dominoes toppled by a group") zu brechen. Aktuell steht dieser bei 4.491.863 Stück, aufgestellt beim Domino Day 2009.

Auch ich war von diesen Steinen von Anfang an begeistert und begann 1999 mit meinen ersten kleinen Versuchen auf dem heimischen Wohnzimmertisch. Etwas später beschloss ich dann, die Videos meiner Projekte auch ins Internet zu stellen und so kam 2005 auch die Idee, eine Dominowebsite zu starten, die damals noch die erste Hobbywebsite zu diesem Thema war. Inzwischen habe ich schon viele Gleichgesinnte, die selbiges getan haben. Die Höhepunkte meiner Dominokarriere sind die drei offiziellen Weltrekorde in diesem Bereich, namentlich die meisten in einer Kettenreaktion gefallenen CD-Hüllen (5.969, September 2011), die meisten in einer Kettenreaktion gefallenden Miniaturdominosteine der Höhe 1 cm (1.585, Mai 2012) und zusammen mit meinem Kollegen Tobias Demuth die meisten in einer Spiralform umgefallenen Dominosteine (50.500, März 2013). Unter anderem informiere ich auch über diese Projekte hier auf meiner Homepage.

Diese Seite versteht sich als allgemeine Informationsquelle rund um das Hobby und dessen Möglichkeiten. Für eine Auflistung und Recherche aktueller Dominoereignisse gibt es mittlerweile genug Homepages von anderen Dominoaufbauern, so dass eine Auflistung hier redundant wäre. Ich habe als Student der Medieninformatik in Weimar leider nicht die Zeit und Ausdauer, all dies regelmäßig hier zu posten.

Und jetzt bleibt mir nichts weiteres zu sagen als: los geht's! Worauf wartet ihr noch? Ich wünsche euch ganz viel Spaß in der Welt der kleinen fallenden bunten Steinchen.

 

Aktuelles

Am 28. Juli 2016 berichtete der Regionalsender TVO in seiner Nachrichtensendung "Oberfranken Aktuell" über mein Dominohobby und mich: Video

 

Meine neusten Videos

 

Preview Image

BioDomino: The human visual system

Ein weiteres Video aus der BioDomino-Serie am Dientzenhofer-Gymnasium Bamberg. 6.300 Dominosteine illustrieren den menschlichen Sehvorgang von den Lichtstrahlen bis zum Gehirn.

 

Preview Image

Disc Cases Domino for Terra Xpress

Ein wenig Behind the Scenes Footage von den Aufnahmen für den Beitrag auf Terra Xpress am 10. August.

 

Preview ImageReview of PESTAS - wooden dominoes from Austria

Ich habe von der Firma PESTAS, welche Holzdominosteine in Österreich herstellt, ein Musterpaket zugeschickt bekommen und vergleiche in diesem Video die Steine mit meinen Dominos und baue ein paar kleine Beispielprojekte.

Schon gewusst?

Ein Dominostein kann einen weiteren Dominostein umstoßen, der genau 1,5 Mal so groß ist. Beginnt man eine Kettenreaktion mit einem Stein der Höhe 1 cm und wird immer 1,5-fach größer, so ist bereits der 27. Stein mit 379 Metern annähernd so groß wie das Empire State Building in New York.

Icon für den Link zum YouTube Kanal TimDomino

YouTube-Kanal: TimDomino

Alle meine Videos rund um das Thema Dominosteine veröffentliche ich auf meinem YouTube Kanal "TimDomino".

Youtube Avatar

Facebook-Seite: TimDomino

Werdet Fan auf der Facebookseite zu meiner Homepage und meinem Dominohobby.

Free business joomla templates